Sykes honoured for contribution to journalism

Veteran financial journalist Trevor Sykes was recognised for his work over a 62-year career at the Walkley Awards for excellence in journalism last night.

Sykes was awarded the Walkley for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism. Author and creator of The Australian Financial Review’s Pierpont column, he has been a prominent reporter and columnist, editor and author.

He was editor of the Packer family’s weekly news magazine, The Bulletin, and has published eight books.

Sykes began his career at The Advertiser in Adelaide in 1953 at the age of 16. He also has worked at The Sydney Morning Herald, Reuters, The Sun News-Pictorial – a precursor to the Herald Sun – and for The Australian Financial Review, where he has written more than 1100 Pierpont columns.

He continues to write the irreverent Pierpont column, named after US financier J. Pierpont Morgan, after he retired from full-time journalism in 2005.

The Australian Financial Review marked the award with a profile and interview with Sykes in this morning’s edition by Andrew Clark.

More than 700 guests attended the 60th Walkley Award presentation at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium.

The Gold Walkley Award was won by Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Sam Clark and Max Murch from The Four Corners for their work “Making a Killing”, which exposed the harsh reality inside the greyhound racing industry in Australia.

The Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year Award was taken out by New Corp Australia’s Gary Ramage, who also won the Nikon-Walkley Photo of the Year for his photo “Ice Nation”.

News Corp Australia took out eight awards. The Australian’s Trent Dalton won an award for the Print/Text Featuring Writing Short category, and Sean Keeley from The Courier-Mail took out the award for headline journalism.

Fairfax Media also did well, winning five awards. The Sydney Morning Herald‘s political editor Peter Hartcher took out the Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique category, and The Canberra Times’ cartoonist David Pope won an award for his cartoon ‘Charlie Hebdo’.

The full list of winners:

PRINT/TEXT NEWS REPORT: Michael Bachelard and Armando Cordoba, The Age, “The White Jihadist”

SOCIAL EQUITY JOURNALISM: Margaret Simons and Dave Tacon, The Monthly, “Fallen Angels: The children left behind by Australian sex tourists”

MULTIMEDIA STORYTELLING: Huw Parkinson, Insiders, ABC TV, “Bronwyn Bishop’s Arrested Development”, “Star Wars: Fixed” and “The Breakfast Clubbing Season”

NIKON-WALKLEY PHOTO OF THE YEAR: Gary Ramage, News Corp Australia, “Ice Nation”

HEADLINE JOURNALISM: Sean Keeley, The Courier-Mail, “Jihad me at hello”, “Fillip for republicans” and “Voyage of the crammed”

COVERAGE OF INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS: Stan Grant, Guardian Australia, “Stan Grant Columns”

COVERAGE OF COMMUNITY AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS: Emma Field, The Weekly Times, “Foreign worker exploitation exposed”

SPORTS JOURNALISM: Chris Garry, Sunday Mail and The Courier-Mail, “When a Game Becomes Life and Death”

SPORT PHOTOGRAPHY: Phil Hillyard, The Daily Telegraph, “One Moment in Time”

RADIO/AUDIO NEWS AND CURRENT AFFAIRS JOURNALISM: Mark Willacy and Mark Solomons, PM, ABC Radio, “Hopeland”

RADIO/AUDIO DOCUMENTARY, FEATURE, PODCAST OR SPECIAL: Hagar Cohen, Background Briefing, ABC Radio National, “Left in Harm’s Way”

PRINT/TEXT FEATURE WRITING LONG (OVER 4000 WORDS): David Kilcullen, Quarterly Essay No. 58, “Blood Year: Terror and the Islamic State”

SCOOP OF THE YEAR: Annika Smethurst, Herald Sun, “Bronwyn Bishop’s Chopper Scandal”

CARTOON: David Pope, The Canberra Times, “Charlie Hebdo”

ARTWORK: Safdar Ahmed, GetUp! – The Shipping News, “Villawood: Notes from an Immigration Detention Centre”

COVERAGE OF A MAJOR NEWS EVENT OR ISSUE: Seven News Team, Seven News, “Lindt Cafe Siege”

PRINT/TEXT FEATURE WRITING SHORT (UNDER 4000 WORDS): Trent Dalton, The Weekend Australian Magazine, “The Ghosts of Murray Street”

NIKON-WALKLEY NEWS PHOTOGRAPHY: Rob Griffith, The Associated Press, “Sydney Lindt Cafe Siege”

BUSINESS JOURNALISM: Adele Ferguson, Sarah Danckert and Klaus Toft, Four Corners, ABC TV and Fairfax Media, “7-Eleven: The Price of Convenience”

NIKON-WALKLEY FEATURE/ PHOTOGRAPHIC ESSAY: Ingetje Tadros, The Sydney Morning Herald, “Kennedy Hill”

INTERNATIONAL JOURNALISM: Jewel Topsfield, Sarah Whyte, David Wroe, Amilia Rosa and Karuni Rompies, Fairfax Media, “People Smuggler Cash Payments”

CAMERAWORK: Louie Eroglu, ABC News and Four Corners, ABC TV, “The Killing Season” and “The Great Cricket Coup”

TV/AV NEWS REPORTING: Chris Reason, Seven News, Seven Network, “Lindt Cafe Siege”

TV/AV DAILY CURRENT AFFAIRS: Matt Brown, Suzanne Dredge and Mathew Marsic, 7.30, ABC TV, “Enslaved by Aussie Jihadis”

TV/AV WEEKLY CURRENT AFFAIRS: Tara Brown and Rebecca Le Tourneau, 60 Minutes, Nine Network, “Catching a Monster”

INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM: Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Sam Clark and Max Murch, Four Corners, ABC TV, “Making a Killing”

INTERVIEW: David Speers, Sky News Australia, “The Fixer”

COMMENTARY, ANALYSIS, OPINION AND CRITIQUE: Peter Hartcher, The Sydney Morning Herald, “Come and get me”, “PM rolled by his own ministers” and “Abbott’s gamble with no safety net”

WALKLEY DOCUMENTARY AWARD: Michael Ware, Justine A. Rosenthal, Patrick McDonald, Bill Guttentag and Jane Moran, Only The Dead, Penance Films and Wolfhound Pictures

WALKLEY BOOK AWARD: Chip Le Grand, The Straight Dope, Melbourne University Press




GOLD WALKLEY: Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Sam Clark and Max Murch, Four Corners, ABC TV, “Making a Killing”

For more news from The Newspaper Works, click here.

Leave a comment