New Courier-Mail editor appointed

Newly appointed editor of The Courier-Mail Lachlan Heywood.

Townsville Bulletin editor Lachlan Heywood has been appointed editor of The Courier-Mail, filing a position left vacant by a recent reshuffle of News Corp Australia editors.

The editorship changes were sparked by this month’s retirement of long-serving editor-in-chief of The Australian Chris Mitchell.

Mr Mitchell was replaced by The Daily Telegraph editor Paul Whittaker. His position was filled by Chris Dore, the former editor of The Courier-Mail.

Mr Heywood has spent the past four years as editor of Townsville Bulletin where he oversaw the Queensland masthead’s 150th anniversary and was a driving force behind a campaign to address post-traumatic stress disorder suffered by the area’s military community.

On announcing his appointment, News Corp Australia chief executive Peter Tonagh said Mr Heywood has the personal and professional experience to excel in his new position.

“Lachlan is a dynamic editor and journalist with a deep understanding of the forces that drive Queensland from the South East corner to the Far North,” he said.

Mr Heywood said he was both thrilled and humbled to be offered what he describes as “one of the great jobs in Australian journalism”.

“(The Courier-Mail) has rarely been more dynamic and influential than it is now and I look forward to working with its great team,” Mr Heywood said.

Current deputy editor of The Daily Telegraph Ben English will replace Mr Heywood as editor of Townsville Bulletin.

Mr English previously worked as national Olympics editor, a foreign correspondent in London as well as chief-of staff, business editor and sports editor of The Daily Telegraph.

Mr English said it was an honour to be editor of a paper “as deeply connected to its readers as the Townsville Bulletin”.

“I admire (Townsville Bulletin’s) energy and the things it has achieved and I look forward to being part of such a unique community,” he said.

Both Mr Heywood and Mr English will start in their new positions in 2016.

Leave a comment